Posted by: marthabernie | March 16, 2015

ROSS’s HOTEL, Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

003This photo is from the 1920’s or 1930’s, but definitely post 1922 because the image is labeled Dun Laoghaire and not Kingstown.  Ross’s Hotel was apparently a popular one in this seaside town where the ferries landed from Holyhead, Wales.  I am not exactly sure where it was located, but someone told me recently that it has not been a hotel for many years and that it has been converted to offices or flats.  I think the hotel was there into the 1960’s but then something happened and it was no more.


Responses

  1. Ross’s hotel was on Victoria Terrace. ( see map red X ) It was demolished in the 1970’s. Ross’s Court apartments there now.
    http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,724685,728469,7,9

    https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=Victoria+Terrace,+Dublin,+Dun+Laoghaire-Rathdown&hl=en&ll=53.291765,-6.129432&spn=0.001645,0.003449&sll=53.344403,-6.269782&sspn=0.006572,0.013797&oq=victoria+terrace+dun&hnear=Victoria+Terrace,+Dublin,+County+Dublin&t=m&z=18&layer=c&cbll=53.291687,-6.129323&panoid=KHr_nIfk61aNDZlLI0UUdQ&cbp=12,289.27,,1,2.8

    Like

    • THanks for the information!

      Like

    • I’m sorry to hear that Ross’s Hotel no longer exists. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there in August 1966. The food was wonderful and the staff so friendly. I expect it was relaxed by some ugly block. That’s progress I suppose!

      Like

      • Sorry, “relaxed” should read “replaced”.

        Like

      • I was in Dun Loaghaire recently and I think the original building still stands, just converted into something else.

        Like

  2. We were married in Ross’ s Hotel Dunlaoghaire on 7th September 1974. I believe there was a fire not long after and it has not operated as a hotel since

    Like

    • Thanks for the information. I have looked at the building since I posted the photo, and it’s definitely no longer a hotel.

      Like

  3. I have just found a bill of my mothers, returning to Cork Jan 1945 after our house was bombed and she me and my sister stayed at Ross,s for the princely sum of 18/9d (94P) -B&B and evening meal!

    Like

  4. Wittgenstein lived here for a year in the late 1940’s.

    Like

  5. My wife and I had our honeymoon at Ross Hotel in July 1965.

    Like

    • Almost 52 years ago!

      Like

    • See my post, Re Ross’s, We were also on honeymoon in May of that year, and as my wife lived in Ross’s we popped in and saw a porter who worked for her father.

      Like

      • Thanks for the information.

        Like

  6. My wife’s family owned this hotel but sadly, lost it for financial reasons, Her father was Brian Ross Coldwell, His son is David Ross Coldwell and his son is Richard Ross Coldwell. My wife’s name is Nee Rosemary Erica Coldwell

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

