Posted by: marthabernie | July 18, 2015

ROASTED STRAWBERRY BUTTERMILK SHERBET

I make a lot of sorbet and sometimes ice cream.  However, I don’t make much sherbet, I guess because if I want to add milk or cream, I want regular ice cream.  However, this recipe caught my eye because of the buttermilk, and I made it last week in my small ice cream maker.  It turned out really well.

ROASTED STRAWBERRY BUTTERMILK SHERBET

4 cups strawberries (about one pound), hulled, halved or quartered if large

1 cup sugar

1/2 vanilla bean, split lengthwise

1-1/2 cups buttermilk

1/3 cup sour cream

pinch of kosher salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Combine strawberries and sugar in a 13 x 9 x 2 baking pan.  Scrape in seeds from vanilla bean and add pod; toss to combine.  Roast berries, stirring occasionally until juices are bubbling, 15 to 20 minutes.  Let cool.  Discard pod.  Puree berries, buttermilk, sour cream and salt in a blender until smooth. Process mixture in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.  Transfer to an airtight container and freeze until ready to serve.  Can be made one week ahead.  Keep frozen.  Let soften at room temperature 15 minutes before serving.


Responses

  1. Was it really tart with the sour cream and buttermilk?

    Like

    • No, not tart due to the sugar. It definitely has a taste that is rich and creamy, but more like a yogurt flavor due to the sour cream and buttermilk. If you’ve ever made sour cream lemon pie, it reminded me of that only with strawberries instead of the lemons.

      Like


Leave a comment

Categories