Posted by: marthabernie | December 16, 2015

ONION CONFIT

I intended to make a big batch of this wonderful confit for Christmas…this back in the summer.  Then I intended to make it this week (planning last week).  However, due to circumstances I will explain some time between now and the new year, it hasn’t happened yet.  Some of you may have noticed that my blog has been less active than usual in the last few months but I intend to start up again with a vengeance very soon.  Thanks to all of you who remain loyal.   More coming very soon.  Anyway, this confit makes a wonderful accompaniment for roasted meat and can replace mayo on pot roast or roast beef sandwiches.  Anything you like to eat with onion, this works…  Original post below.

==================================================

I got this recipe from friends in Ireland. They made it a few years ago at Christmas and gave it to friends as gifts. I had it in October with beef, and it was wonderful! I made the first batch with yellow sweet Maui onions, and then another batch with sweet red onions.  It would be wonderful made out of Vidalia onions, I think.   I have a 6 quart slow cooker which also is a roaster, so I start the recipe on the cook/roast setting and then reduce the heat and cover and cook on slow cooker mode for a few hours. Since the liquids don’t cook down when the lid is on the cooker, I then cook it some more on the higher setting to thicken. As I said, it’s WONDERFUL! I double and triple the recipe (which gave me an excuse to buy a restaurant quality mandoline for the slicing!). If you can’t find demerara sugar, use brown sugar or turbinado sugar. I bought the sherry vinegar at Cost Plus World Market and the Crème de Cassis at BevMo.

ONION CONFIT

1-1/2 oz butter
2 pounds onions, peeled and thinly sliced
4 ounces demerara sugar
3 tablespoons sherry vinegar
1-1/2 tablespoons Crème de Cassis
2 teaspoons salt

Add onions to melted butter, cook 5 minutes, stirring with a wooden spoon. Add everything else and stir and simmer 1-1/2 to 2 hours. Stir to prevent sticking and scorching (this is where the slow cooker came in handy). Finished “marmalade” should look dark and golden and sticky. Cover and refrigerate. Store well sealed in refrigerator for weeks. Reheat before serving.


Leave a Reply

Categories

