Posted by: marthabernie | January 26, 2016

Newbridge Silver, Newbridge, County Kildare, Ireland

P1010113When I first visited Newbridge Silver, the showroom was a tiny little building.  They have since expanded, putting in an upstairs museum of style which has dresses owned by Elizabeth Taylor, Grace Kelly and others, as well as a restaurant, SILVER.  The showroom is also much larger.  They have been in business since 1934 and are one of Ireland’s leading labels.  I have some of their silver plate and a few pieces of their stainless steel that I use for every day.  I have collected some of the vintage pieces over the years, but my favorite things I’ve purchased there are their reproduction knives and pastry forks.  I have some very old Irish silver that I use from time to time when I set a formal table, but alas, the knives rarely survive due to the blade rusting where it fit into the bone or other handle.  Newbridge has come out with a couple of patterns that copy old styles yet are modern and work very well with my antique flatware.  Photos below from my last visit to Newbridge.

P1010111a

P1010112a

 


Responses

  1. i think the official name is “newbridge silverware”

    • You are correct. They started out as Newbridge Cutlery in 1934, I assume before they went into other lines of silverware.


Leave a Reply

Categories

