Posted by: marthabernie | March 30, 2016

APPLE JOHNNY CAKE (Apple Corn Bread)

Saw this recipe on another blog called Hundred Year Old Recipes.  I love anything with apples, and I love cornbread, so this really jumped out at me.  No sugar added to this recipe, though you might like to add half a cup or so if you like sweet cornbread:

APPLE JOHNNY CAKE

2 cups corn meal

1 cup all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1-1/2 cups milk

3 apples pared and thinly sliced

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Put corn meal, flour, baking powder, salt and milk into a mixing bowl; beat until smooth.  Stir in apple slices and then put the batter into a well-greased 9 x 9 inch baking dish or pan.  Place in oven and bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

NOTE:  A few years ago when I was at Ballymaloe House in Shanagarry, County Cork, Ireland, I went into their shop and found a metal cake tester, which I use all the time now instead of toothpicks or inserting a knife in the middle of a bake.  It’s about 8 inches long, smaller than a knitting needle in diameter and has a rubber coated hook on one end.  It’s perfect for testing bakes.  When I was packing to return home on this trip, I had everything spread out in the sitting room at my friends’ house in Sandycove.  Somehow, the cake tester managed to drop between the sofa cushions and when I got home, I realized I had somehow left it behind.  I then promptly forgot about it, and since I never saw another one in any of my travels, I did not order or buy another.  It was about 18 months before my next trip to Ireland, and much to my surprise, my friends had found it down in the sofa while carrying out a spring cleaning!  I brought it home in my carry-on luggage though I thought it might be interpreted as a weapon…it passed security OK.  I would not be without it now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

