Posted by: marthabernie | February 22, 2017

SLOW COOKER BANANA BREAD (with or without Bourbon)

I just started experimenting with my slow cooker for desserts in the last few years, and this is a recipe that was a huge hit when I took it to work a couple of years ago.

SLOW COOKER BOURBON BANANA BREAD

2-2/3 cups Bisquick
1-1/2 cups mashed very ripe bananas
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter, melted
2 tablespoons bourbon
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup chopped toasted pecans

GLAZE

2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon bourbon
1 teaspoon hot water

Grease bottom of a 3-1/2 to 4 quart round slow cooker with cooking spray. Spinkle lightly with 2 teaspoons of the Bisquick mix. In large bowl, stir bananas, sugar, 1/3 cup melted butter, 2 tablespoons boubon, vanilla and eggs until well blended. Stir in remaining Bisquick, the cinnamon, chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of the pecans until well blended. Pour into slow cooker.

Cover, cook on High heat setting one hour 30 minutes to 2 hours or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Turn off slow cooker; uncover and remove ceramic base from cooker to cooling rack. Let cool 15 minutes. Loosen edge of bread with knife or spatular, remove bread to cooling rack. Cool one hour.

Mix glaze ingredients in small bowl until smooth and consistency of thick syrup. Drizzle over top of bread. Sprinkle evenly with remaining 1/4 cup pecans.

Make 16 servings.


Responses

  1. This looks really good and also very interesting. I’ll have my bourbon on the side, please :).

    Like

    • I have found some really interesting desserts to cook in the slow cooker. I have one for peach cobbler that I will post when I find it. Part of the reason for blogging recipes is an effort to get all my recipes ORGANIZED!

      Like

      • And I’m finding that my photos were much more DISorganized than I’d thought. It sure is a process, isn’t it?

        Like

      • Yes, photos are worse. I still have boxes and boxes of them, as well as negatives and slides. I bought myself one of those conversion machines for the negatives and slides, but it’s a VERY slow process getting them copied onto CD.

        Like

  2. Tasty πŸ˜„

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

