Posted by: marthabernie | March 2, 2017

CRANBERRY MEATBALLS

I love cranberries, although it’s a taste I did not develop until I was well into my 30’s.  When I saw this recipe in Good Housekeeping magazine a couple of years ago, I went for it!  I made the first batch according to the recipe.  For a second batch, I left out the nutmeg and added sage instead and stirred in about 2/3 cup of dried cranberries, making sure I got at least one dried cranberry in each meatball when I baked them.  Much to my surprise, the second batch with sage and dried cranberries were gone in minutes after putting them out on my appetizer table!  The recipe below is the original one with nutmeg.  I have switched out the black pepper for white pepper because I like the white pepper better.  I have also made these with ground turkey breast, which I think actually goes with the flavor of sage and cranberries better.

CRANBERRY MEATBALLS  with CREAMY CRANBERRY SAUCE

1-1/4 pounds ground beef sirloin

1/3 cup dried bread crumbs (I always use Panko these days)

1/4 cup grated onion

1 large egg, beaten

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

salt and white pepper

1/2 cup sour cream

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

2 tablespoons cranberry preserves or cranberry sauce (not the jelled kind)

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Chopped fresh parsley for garnish

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Line a jelly roll pan with foil, spray lightly with nonstick spray.  In bowl, combine beef, bread crumbs, onion, egg, nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and white pepper.  Combine thoroughly.  With tablespoon size cookie dough scoop, scoop mixture into balls, placing  on pan, 1/2 inch apart.  Spray meatballs with non-stick spray.  Roast 20 to 25 minutes or until cooked through (165 degrees F).

Stir  remaining ingredients in bowl except parsley.  Garnish meatballs with parsley, serve with sauce.

ENJOY!


Responses

  1. This not only sounds unusual, but very tasty indeed.

    Like

    • Try making them with ground turkey instead of ground beef and they are even better!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

