Posted by: marthabernie | June 18, 2012

SUMMER and SUCCULENTS

Now that I am into the second summer here in Pasadena, my gardening efforts are going in a different direction.  Last year I tried all sorts of plants with and without success.  On the hottest days, it was hard to give everything enough water to keep them going.  Even Impatiens in the shade withered and died.  It gets really hot here for days and days at a time.  I don’t mind watering every day or two, but twice a day just doesn’t do it for me.  Also, we are limited as to how many times each week we can run the sprinklers during the summer, so it’s a challenge.

This year I am going toward cacti and succulents.  The planter above thrives with and without water, and the ones growing out into the driveway (and onto the sidewalk) had to be trimmed back a few weeks ago.  They were moving south and west at an alarming rate!  Fortunately, there were many new ones coming up behind them.  I don’t know what these are called, but I love the way they fill the corner of the planter.  My next project is to start a cacti garden around the tree that is on the parkway, next to the street.


Responses

  1. As yes Cacti & California go together like a horse & carriage!

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories